Wednesday, April 01, 2020
  • Updated

Percy "Pop Pop" Edward Gunter, 80, of Amherst County, went to be with the Lord on Tuesday, M…

  • Updated

Richard Hiram Martin, of Madison Heights, departed this life on Monday, March 30, 2020, at G…

Tuesday, March 31, 2020
  • Updated

On Sunday evening, March 29, 2020, our Heavenly Father called His beloved daughter, Evelyn J…

Saturday, March 28, 2020
  • Updated

James "Jim" Edwin Davis James "Jim" Edwin Davis, 61, passed away Monday, March 23, 2020, at …

Thursday, March 26, 2020
  • Updated

L. Dale Higginbotham, 84, of Amherst, passed away on Wednesday, March 25, 2020, at his home.…

Wednesday, March 25, 2020
  • Updated

James Nelson Fetter, known to friends as Jim or Jimmy, entered eternal rest on March 20, 202…

Sunday, March 22, 2020

Roosevelt Tomlin passed away at his home on Saturday, March 21, 2020, at the age of 96. He h…

Friday, March 20, 2020

Homer "Ray" Tolbert Sr., 78, of Arrington, passed away peacefully at his home and entered in…

Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Wednesday, March 11, 2020

A memorial service to honor the life and memory of Chester "Chet" Wrzos will be held at 1 p.…

Saturday, March 07, 2020

Ellen Mae Crawford Hopkins, 86, of Monroe, Va., passed away peacefully Friday, March 6, 2020…

Thursday, March 05, 2020
Wednesday, March 04, 2020

Wendy Sams Maddox, 51, of Amherst, died on Sunday, March 1, 2020. A private service will be …

The family of Chester "Chet" Wrzos announces with much sorrow his sudden passing from this l…

Latest Local Offers

We specialize in affordable exterior cleaning solutions!Our services include:- House Washing- Roof Cleaning- Gutter Cleaning and Brightening- Hot/Cold Water Pressure Cleaning for Hard Surfaces- Deck Cleaning/Staining and much more!Licensed and InsuredVeteran Owned and OperatedCall today for …

promotion

Learn about the services that restaurants and other businesses are offering.

Wednesday, February 26, 2020

Ralph Graley Mooney Jr., 91, of Monroe, died on Monday, February 17, 2020. Tharp Funeral Hom…

Saturday, February 22, 2020

William Harvey Saunders, 82, of Amherst County, passed away on February 18, 2020. Born in Ch…

Wednesday, February 19, 2020

A memorial service for Michael Emerson Crites will be held on Saturday, February 22, 2020, a…

Chester Wrzos, 96, of Madison Heights, died on Friday, February 14, 2020. Tharp Funeral Home…

Monday, February 17, 2020
Friday, February 14, 2020

William "Roadrunner" Adair Murphy Jr., 72, of Amherst, died Thursday, February 13, 2020, at …

Wednesday, February 12, 2020

Ellen Walker Brandt, 84, died on January 22, 2020, in Charlottesville. Memorial service arra…

Margaret Topper, 86, of Amherst, died on Sunday, January 19, 2020. Tharp Funeral Home & …

Tuesday, February 11, 2020

Gary Ward Davis, 75, passed away Tuesday, February 11, 2020, at home with his wife of 54 yea…

Wednesday, February 05, 2020

Myrtle Harris Dalton, 84, of Madison Heights, passed away Monday, February 3, 2020, at Lynch…

Jamie Christopher Huber, 44, of Roseland, passed away on Saturday, January 25, 2020, at UVA …

Saturday, January 25, 2020
Saturday, January 18, 2020

Harry E. Lively Jr., formerly of Amherst, departed this life on Wednesday, January 15, 2020,…

Saturday, January 11, 2020

Jane Loving Bowling Mays passed away on Friday, December 27, 2019. Jane was the only child o…

Thursday, January 09, 2020

Dianne Mayo Eanes, 74, of Lynchburg, was called to heaven on Wednesday, January 8, 2020. She…

Wednesday, January 08, 2020

Alva Smith Cocke, 97, of Madison Heights, passed away on Tuesday, January 7, 2020, at Fairmo…

Saturday, January 04, 2020

Rhonda Moore Holland, 63, of Oak Ridge Estate was called to heaven on Thursday, January 2, 2…

Sunday, December 29, 2019

Gene P. Webster, 80, of Madison Heights, passed away on Sunday, December 29, 2019, at his re…

Thursday, December 26, 2019

Elizabeth Sprouse "Bet", 99, of Amherst, passed away on Tuesday, December 24, 2019, in Lynch…

Wednesday, December 25, 2019
Thursday, December 19, 2019

Carroll Dean Wood, 73, of Lowesville, passed away on Tuesday, December 17, 2019. Born in Woo…

Wednesday, December 18, 2019

Kenneth Elwood Mays passed away on Wednesday, November 27, 2019 at his home in Amherst. He w…

FRANKLIN, Va. Jake Massie Stone, 84, passed away Sunday, December 15, 2019, at East Pavilion…

Tuesday, December 17, 2019

Elliot Schewel, devoted husband and father, and dedicated public servant, died peacefully in…

Wednesday, December 11, 2019

Carl E. "Gene" Bayliss In the early morning hours of December 5, 2019, a quiet giant of a ma…

Bland Massie Johnson, 81, died peacefully at home Tuesday, December 3, 2019. She was born in…

Monday, December 09, 2019

Violet Jennings Wright, 95, of Madison Height, passed away on Monday, December 9, 2019. She …

Saturday, December 07, 2019

Ernest Ray Shelton Sr. died peacefully at his home in southern Albemarle County surrounded b…

Wednesday, December 04, 2019

Mary R. Linn, of Amherst, Virginia, died Tuesday, November 26, 2019. Mary was born and raise…

Saturday, November 16, 2019
Tuesday, November 05, 2019

Arthur Raymond Pormann, 89, of Amherst, passed away on Wednesday, October 30, 2019, at his r…

Sunday, November 03, 2019

Helen Monyeene Bibb Wood, 93, of Lynchburg, formerly of Madison Heights, passed away on Frid…

Wednesday, October 30, 2019

Vivian Bailey, 88, of Amherst, passed away Saturday, October 26, 2019, in Crozet. She was pr…

Wednesday, October 16, 2019

Cecil "Ann" Napper, 78, of Amherst, departed this life on Wednesday, October 9, 2019, in Lyn…

Henry William Rose, 80, of Lynchburg, died on Monday, October 7, 2019. A memorial service wa…

Wednesday, October 09, 2019

Eva Johnson Evans, 87, of Pedlar Mills, died on Friday, October 4, 2019, peacefully at home.…

Wednesday, October 02, 2019

John Shirley Joachim, 79, died on September 27, 2019, in Farmville, Virginia, after a long b…

Wednesday, September 25, 2019

James E. Hueber went to be with his Savior Jesus Christ on Wednesday, September 18, 2019. Bo…

Tuesday, September 24, 2019

Mamie Iseman Bateman, 97, of Amherst, passed away on Monday, September 23, 2019, in Amherst.…

Sign A Guestbook

Offer a personal message of sympathy...

You'll find individual Guest Books on the page with each obituary notice. By sharing a fond memory or writing a kind tribute, you will be providing a comforting keepsake to those in mourning. From a Guest Book, you may log in with your user account to leave a message. If you have an existing account with this site, you may log in with that. Otherwise, it's simple to create a new one by clicking on the Create "Sign up" button and following the simple steps on the Sign Up page.